WGC Cadillac Championship Winners and Records | PGA Tour


The WGC-Cadillac Championship is a part of four annual World Golf Championships.  The purse prize money is considered official money on both the PGA Tour, European Tour and now the Japan Golf Tour.  The current purse is set at $8.75 million with $1.5 million going to the champion.  If the player is part of the Fed Ex Cup series, they will earn 550 points.

From 1999 through 2006, it was formerly known as the WGC-American Express Championship. Since the start of the FedEx Cup in 2007, the event is now played in March.  On November 29, 2010 that Cadillac would be the new sponsor in a multi-year sponsorship deal beginning in 2011.

During its first eight years, the event was played at different locations in the United States and Europe. Since 2007 it has been played annually on the TPC Blue Monster course at the recently renovated Doral Golf Resort & Spa, which is now run by Donald Trump.




TPC Blue Monster (Trump National Doral)

Miami, FL

Par: 72

Length: 7,344 yards




In order to qualify for the WGC- Cadillac Championship, golfers must me a certain criteria

  • Top 50 players from the Official World Golf Rankings (one week and two weeks prior to event)
  • Top players from member tours’ money lists or orders of merit (from last complete season)
    • Top 30 PGA Tour FedEx Cup list (also top 10 from one week prior to event)
    • Top 20 European Tour (also top 10 from two weeks prior to event)
    • Top 2 each from Asian Tour, Japan Golf Tour, PGA Tour of Australasia, and Sunshine Tour

The field consists of approximately 70 eligible players, half that (144 to 156 players) for most regular PGA Tour events. Because of the limited field, there is no 36-hole cut.



  • Most Wins: 7 Tiger Woods
  • Aggregate Score: 261 Tiger Woods (2005)



Year Winner Final Score Earnings ($)
WGC-Cadillac Championship
2013 Tiger Woods –19 1,500,000
2012 Justin Rose –16 1,400,000
2011 Nick Watney –16 1,400,000
WGC-CA Championship
2010 Ernie Els –18 1,400,000
2009 Phil Mickelson –19 1,400,000
2008 Geoff Ogilvy –17 1,350,000
2007 Tiger Woods –10 1,350,000
WGC-American Express Championship
2006 Tiger Woods –23 1,300,000
2005 Tiger Woods –10 1,300,000
2004 Ernie Els –18 1,200,000
2003 Tiger Woods –6 1,050,000
2002 Tiger Woods –25 1,000,000
2001 Cancelled due to September 11 attacks[4]
2000 Mike Weir –7 1,000,000
1999 Tiger Woods –6 1,000,000

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.