Puerto Rico Open Winners and Records | PGA Tour


The Puerto Rico Open is fairly new to the lineup on the PGA Tour.  It was played for the first time on the PGA Tour from March 20 to March 23, 2008. The prize fund was US$3.5 million with $630,000 going to the winner. The tournament was played at the Trump International Golf Club Puerto Rico (previously the Coco Beach Golf & Country Club) which was designed by Tom Kite. It was the first PGA Tour tournament to be held in Puerto Rico. It is an alternate tournament to the WGC-Cadillac Championship for players outside the top-50 in the Official World Golf Ranking or top-10 in the FedEx Cup standings. All four rounds were broadcast on the Golf Channel.



Year Player Country Score To par 1st prize ($) Purse ($)
Puerto Rico Open presented by seepuertorico.com
2013 Scott Brown  United States 268 –20 630,000 3,500,000
2012 George McNeill  United States 272 –16 630,000 3,500,000
2011 Michael Bradley  United States 272 –16 630,000 3,500,000
Puerto Rico Open presented by Banco Popular
2010 Derek Lamely  United States 269 –19 630,000 3,500,000
2009 Michael Bradley  United States 274 –14 630,000 3,500,000
2008 Greg Kraft  United States 274 –14 630,000 3,500,000


Fun Facts:

– Greg Kraft won the inaugural tournament with two-under-par 70, beating Jerry Kelly and Bo Van Pelt by one shot.

– The winner of the Puerto Rico Open earns 300 FedEx Cup points and 24 OWGR points, compared to 550 FedEx Cup and 70-80 OWGR points for the WGC-Cadillac Championship.

– As an alternate event, the winner does not earn a bid to the Masters, but still receives a two-year exemption (compared to three for a WGC event) and entry into the PGA Championship as a Tour winner.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.