in

PGA News: Matt Kuchar Revisits Last Year’s Caddie Controversy

Last year, Matt Kuchar caught heat for under-tipping his caddie, David Giral Ortiz, who was a fill-in at the Mayakoba Golf Classic.  What made it even more noticeable was Kuchar’s tournament victory.

“What happened post tournament with David is something I’m not proud of, made some headlines that certainly I’m definitely not proud of, but I’ve done my best to make amends, to make things right with David, to do things right by the community,” Kuchar said at his press conference on Tuesday.

Kuchar, who always stayed out of the lime light and is ideal in the public relations department, has won nine times on the PGA Tour.  But after his win at last year’s Mayakoba Golf Classic, he made the pivotal mistake of paying his caddy just $5,000 from his $1.2 million dollar winnings.  The unwritten rule is that the caddie gets 10 percent of the purse.  Once this hit the media, Kuchar was bombarded with criticism.  To make matters worse, Kuchar told GolfChannel.com, “For a guy who makes $200 a day, a $5,000 week is a real big week.” Yikes. But on Tuesday, he shared what he learned from this experience:

It’s a moment I’m not proud of, but it’s one of those things you do your best as a father to teach kids lessons, and there’s no better thing than to show them – taking the lead and showing them the right steps to take. When you have moments you’re not proud of, you make amends for them, you do your best to make it right and try to keep moving forward and staying positive.”

“I think as a whole I’m proud of the life I’ve led, I think I’ve done a lot of good, but you look back at certain instances, I’ve got some I’m not proud of,” Kuchar added.  “I’m proud of the way I’ve tried to make them right.”

Kuchar eventually paid Ortiz an additional $45,000.  One year later, he will defend his Mayakoba Classic title starting Thursday off the 10th tee.  He is paired with fellow Presidents Cup teammate Tony Finau and Abraham Ancer of Mexico.

h/t: ESPN, Golf.com

Written by Brian Bernd

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Loading…

0

Comments

0 comments

Eddie Pepperell Disqualified After ‘Tin Cup’ Moment During Turkish Airlines Open

European Tour: Tommy Fleetwood Silences Critics With Big Time Victory