in ,

USGA and R&A to Address Lexi Thompson ANA Inspiration Incident on Tuesday

Lexi Thompson

According to Golfweek, the USGA and R&A will make an announcement on Tuesday regarding the Lexi Thompson ruling heard around the golf word at the ANA Inspiration earlier this month.

Just to recap, Lexi Thompson was leading the ANA Inspiration by three shots in the final round through 12 holes. With her sights set on her second major, Thompson was headed to the 13th tee when she was assessed a devastating four-shot penalty after a viewer sent an email alerting officials of a rule violation.

The viewer noticed that Thompson had misplaced her ball by one inch a day earlier.

After reviewing the tape, the violation was confirmed and Thompson was penalized two shots for the misplaced ball and two more for incorrect scorecard she signed. Thompson managed to force a playoff but eventually lost to So Yeon Ryu who ended up being the one to capture her second major.

The floodgates opened immediately with many pro golfers reacting to the situation and criticizing the fact that viewers are allowed to officiate professional golf. LPGA Commissioner Mike Whan even issued a statement about the hot issue.

It was really an ugly situation all around, especially because So Yeon Ryu’s special moment was upstaged by the penalty.

Whether the USGA and R&A make a direct change to the viewer rule or some kind of variation remains to be seen, but it sounds like we should have a resolution on Tuesday.

h/t: golfweek.com

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by BP Staff

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Loading…

0

Comments

0 comments

Kevin Chappell

Kevin Chappell Clinches Valero Texas Open Win With Clutch Final Putt

Lexi Thompson

USGA and R&A Limit Video Evidence But Viewer Rule Still Alive