Formerly named The Players’ Player of the Year Award, the European Tour has changed the name in honor of a true legend of the game from Spain, Seve Ballesteros.

European Tour members will still vote for the winner of The Seve Ballesteros Award.

Seve Ballesteros, who passed away in 2011, holds the record for the most wins on the European Tour (50), and he won five majors, with the high distinction of having won The Masters twice (1980 and 1983). Oh, he also won The Open Championship three times over nine years (1979, 1984, 1988).

It’s not hard to see why the European Tour has chosen to honor Ballesteros this way.

As for the first winner of The Seve Ballesteros Award, that distinction goes to Henrik Stenson who is ranked No. 5 in the world as of March 12, 2017. He is now a two-time winner.  Stenson said about the honor:

Having won the Players’ Player of the Year award once before I know how special this award is. I am truly honored to be the first player to receive it after it has been renamed The Seve Ballesteros Award. Seve was one of my idols and an icon of the game, which makes it that much more special to receive this from my peers.”

Stenson was last voted as the winner in 2013.